Ajla Tomljanovic an opportunity to win first Newcombe Medal | 11 December, 2022 | All Information | Information and Options | Information and Occasions

Ajla Tomljanovic is considered one of seven nominees for the coveted Newcombe Medal on the 2022 Australian Tennis Awards.

Melbourne, Australia, 11 December 2022 | Leigh Rogers

After elevating her sport to beautiful new heights in 2022, Ajla Tomljanovic is nominated for the Newcombe Medal.

It’s the 29-year-old’s second nomination, and first since 2019, for the very best particular person honour in Australian tennis.

“It feels particular to be nominated for the Newcombe Medal. I’ve had my greatest 12 months thus far, and that is just a bit reminder and reward for the onerous work that’s been put in over a protracted time period,” mentioned Tomljanovic.

Tomljanovic recorded 5 top-20 wins in a career-best season, together with an opening-round upset of world No.5 Anett Kontaveit at Roland Garros.

She additionally eradicated two top-20 seeds at Wimbledon, to turn into the primary Australian lady in 20 years to achieve back-to-back quarterfinals on the match.

The decided competitor created extra historical past on the US Open, ending Serena Williams’ skilled profession as a part of a career-best run to the final eight.

This made Tomljanovic the primary Australian lady in 43 years to achieve Wimbledon and US Open quarterfinals in the identical season.

She then spearheaded Australia’s run to the Billie Jean King Cup closing and completed a memorable season at a career-high rating of world No.33.

“Backing up large leads to a shorter time period has been a objective of mine for some time now, so to see my consistency go up is one thing I’m very happy with,” Tomljanovic mentioned.

“I put a number of emphasis this 12 months on having fun with competing and the roller-coaster course of that tennis will be, discovering positives from each scenario and studying from it to be higher subsequent time round.”

Tomljanovic is considered one of seven nominees for the distinguished Newcombe Medal in 2022, alongside Ash Barty, Alex de Minaur, Matt Ebden, Storm Hunter (nee Sanders), Nick Kyrgios and Max Purcell.

The winner will probably be introduced on the Australian Tennis Awards tomorrow (Monday 12 December) night.

Newcombe Medal
Honour roll
12 months Winner
2021 Ash Barty and Dylan Alcott
2020 Not offered
2019 Ash Barty
2018 Ash Barty and Alex de Minaur
2017 Ash Barty
2016 Dylan Alcott
2015 Sam Groth
2014 Nick Kyrgios
2013 Lleyton Hewitt
2012 Sam Stosur
2011 Sam Stosur
2010 Sam Stosur

> READ: Australian Tennis Awards 2022 finalists revealed

Guide on-line, play at the moment: Go to play.tennis.com.au to get out on court docket and have some enjoyable!