Followers react after ‘stand out participant’ misses out on Participant of the Sequence nomination

The three nominees for the Autumn Nations Sequence’ Participant of the Sequence have been introduced, however the omission of the “stand out participant of the autumn” has shocked rugby followers on-line.

Rampaging backrower Ardie Savea is the one nominee from the Southern Hemisphere, as he continued his stellar kind all through the All Blacks’ unbeaten run throughout the sequence.

Whereas Savea was a shock omission from World Rugby’s dream staff, and was additionally absent from the Participant of the Yr nominees checklist, the 29-year-old has lastly been recognised for his kind.

Video Spacer
Video Spacer

The other two nominees are French winger Damian Penaud and World Rugby’s Breakthrough Player of the Year Ange Capuozzo

But many supporters online have been more than vocal about the glaring omission of South Africa’s try-scoring machine Kurt-Lee Arendse.

The winger scored five tries in four Tests during the Autumn Nations Series, including a double in the big win over Italy.

South Africa started their series with back-to-back losses against the world’s two top ranked sides in Ireland and France, before recording big wins over Italy and England.

But make no mistake, Arendse was exceptional during the Autumn Nations Series, and a majority of rugby supporters believe he should’ve won the award – let alone be nominated.

Out of the four nominees, some fans are calling for Savea to be crowned the best player of the series after he was omitted from World Rugby’s awards.

The All Blacks began their Autumn Nations Series with an emphatic win over Wales in Cardiff, and Savea played a pivotal role in that improved performance.

New Zealand did it tough the week after against Scotland at Murrayfield, before a dramatic draw with England in London brought an end to their season.

While he wasn’t officially recognised for his individual brilliance at last weekend’s World Rugby Awards, some fans believe he has to win this honour after “snubbing him from team of the year.”