Purcell scores first Newcombe Medal nomination | 10 December, 2022 | All Information | Information and Options | Information and Occasions

Max Purcell is one in every of seven gamers in rivalry to win the celebrated Newcombe Medal on the 2022 Australian Tennis Awards.

Melbourne, Australia, 10 December 2022 | Leigh Rogers

Max Purcell is nominated for the coveted Newcombe Medal for the primary time.

The 24-year-old loved an distinctive 2022 season on the doubles courtroom, advancing to 2 Grand Slam finals.

After recording a runner-up end on the Australian Open alongside Matt Ebden, the Aussie mixture went one higher to assert the doubles crown at Wimbledon.

Purcell’s first Grand Slam title proved an historic run, with the duo turning into the primary champions within the event’s grand historical past to save lots of match factors in a number of matches.

Earlier within the season, Purcell claimed his first ATP doubles title at a clay-court occasion in Houston (additionally with Ebden).

He achieved a career-high rating of world No.25 in April, then completed the season at world No.33 and because the youngest participant contained in the world’s high 50.

Purcell additionally made his Davis Cup debut throughout an unforgettable season and performed an vital function in Australia’s development to a primary ultimate in 19 years.

“For certain, it’s been my most profitable 12 months,” Purcell mirrored. “One other Slam ultimate after which a Slam win, getting chosen in Davis Cup, additionally enjoying ATP Cup firstly of the 12 months for Australia and occurring to make finals in Davis Cup.

“I made the powerful determination to stay with extra doubles this 12 months once more, however I used to be high-quality with that as a result of I’d do something for Australia and the Davis Cup crew.

“From subsequent 12 months, I’m hoping to make extra of a push in singles and go away doubles for the Grand Slams and for when Australia wants me at Davis Cup.”

Purcell is one in every of seven nominees for the celebrated Newcombe Medal in 2022, alongside Ash Barty, Alex de Minaur, Matt Ebden, Storm Hunter (nee Sanders), Nick Kyrgios and Ajla Tomljanovic.

The winner can be introduced on the Australian Tennis Awards on Monday 12 December.

Newcombe Medal
Honour roll
12 months Winner
2021 Ash Barty and Dylan Alcott
2020 Not introduced
2019 Ash Barty
2018 Ash Barty and Alex de Minaur
2017 Ash Barty
2016 Dylan Alcott
2015 Sam Groth
2014 Nick Kyrgios
2013 Lleyton Hewitt
2012 Sam Stosur
2011 Sam Stosur
2010 Sam Stosur

> READ: Australian Tennis Awards 2022 finalists revealed

E book on-line, play right now: Go to play.tennis.com.au to get out on courtroom and have some enjoyable!