Tennis Information: ATP Masters 1000: Tournaments, Information, Stats

ATP Masters 1000, which debuted as a sequence in 1990, options the very best males’s tennis gamers at 9 prime tournaments on the ATP Tour calendar. Champions at Masters 1000 occasions earn 1,000 Pepperstone ATP Rankings factors. 

Masters 1000 Reigning Champions

Carlos Alcaraz opened the 2023 sequence with a dominant run on the BNP Paribas Open, securing his return to World No. 1 within the course of. Daniil Medvedev, who completed runner-up to Alcaraz in Indian Wells, clinched the second half of the Sunshine Double by profitable the Miami Open introduced by Itau. Andrey Rublev kicked off the clay-court swing along with his first Masters 1000 title on the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters, and Alcaraz adopted by efficiently defending his Mutua Madrid Open crown. 

Masters 1000 Title Leaders

Because the Masters 1000 sequence started in 1990, solely six gamers have gained greater than 10 Masters 1000 titles. Along with his victory on the 2021 Rolex Paris Masters, Novak Djokovic took sole possession of the ATP Masters 1000 titles report, breaking the report he beforehand shared with Rafael Nadal. He took his Masters 1000 haul to 38 by profitable the 2022 Internazionali BNL d’Italia.

 Participant Titles
Novak Djokovic 38
Rafael Nadal 36
Roger Federer 28
Andre Agassi 17
Andy Murray 14
Pete Sampras 11

Masters 1000 Win Leaders

Rafael Nadal leads Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic within the battle amongst Masters 1000 match win leaders, with the Spaniard pulling forward of the Swiss on the 2019 Rolex Paris Masters. Nadal first broke Federer’s long-held report in August 2019, along with his 379th Masters 1000 victory at this elite degree in the course of the Coupe Rogers. Stan Wawrinka entered the High 10 leaderboard after reaching the third spherical on the 2019 BNP Paribas Open, overtaking Tommy Haas (144-107 match report).

Participant W-L Titles
Rafael Nadal 406-88  36 
Novak Djokovic 389-86 38
Roger Federer 381-108  28
Andy Murray 225-97 14 
Andre Agassi  209-73  17
Tomas Berdych 191-117
Pete Sampras 190-70 11
David Ferrer 189-122
Stan Wawrinka 163-117 1
Andy Roddick 157-70 5

* numbers following 2023 Mutua Madrid Open

Masters 1000 Biggest Champions

Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan dominate the titles leaderboard for the Masters 1000 tournaments.

Metropolis Singles Doubles
Indian Wells Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer (5) Mark Knowles, Daniel Nestor (4)
Miami Andre Agassi, Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6)
Monte-Carlo Rafael Nadal (11)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6) 
Madrid Rafael Nadal (5) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Rome Rafael Nadal (10) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)
Canada Rafael Nadal (5) Mahesh Bhupathi, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (5) 
Cincinnati  Roger Federer (7)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Shanghai  Novak Djokovic (4) Marcelo Melo (3)
Paris Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)

Masters 1000 Sweeps

The “Sunshine Double”, profitable Indian Wells and Miami in the identical season, has been achieved 12 totally different occasions because the sequence started in 1990, most just lately by Roger Federer in 2017. The autumn Masters 1000 sweep has been accomplished 5 occasions, twice by Novak Djokovic, whereas 4 gamers have gained Canada and Cincinnati back-to-back. Rafael Nadal, the newest participant to perform the North American summer season sweep, can also be the one one to have captured all three clay Masters 1000 titles consecutively. 

ATP Masters 1000 Sunshine Double (Indian Wells, Miami)
2017: Roger Federer
2016: Novak Djokovic
2015: Novak Djokovic
2014: Novak Djokovic
2011: Novak Djokovic
2006: Roger Federer
2005: Roger Federer
2001: Andre Agassi
1998: Marcelo Rios
1994: Pete Sampras
1992: Michael Chang
1991: Jim Courier

ATP Masters 1000 Spring Sweep (Clay)
2010: Rafael Nadal (Monte-Carlo, Rome, Madrid)

ATP Masters 1000 Summer season Sweep
2013: Rafael Nadal (Montreal, Cincinnati)
2003: Andy Roddick (Montreal, Cincinnati)
1998: Patrick Rafter (Toronto, Cincinnati)
1995: Andre Agassi (Montreal, Cincinnati)

ATP Masters 1000 Fall Sweep
2016: Andy Murray (Shanghai, Paris)
2015: Novak Djokovic (Shanghai, Paris)
2013: Novak Djokovic (Shanghai, Paris)
2007: David Nalbandian (Madrid, Paris)
2004: Marat Safin (Madrid, Paris)


Large 4 Dominance At Masters 1000

From 2008 Madrid by way of 2017 Madrid, Novak Djokovic (26), Rafael Nadal (18), Andy Murray (13) and Roger Federer (12) mixed to seize 69 of the 78 Masters 1000 titles (88.5%). Throughout that stretch, solely six different gamers gained their first Masters 1000 title:
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2008 Paris)
Ivan Ljubicic (2010 Indian Wells)
Robin Soderling (2010 Paris)
David Ferrer (2012 Paris)
Stan Wawrinka (2014 Monte-Carlo)
Marin Cilic (2016 Cincinnati).

Compared, within the 21 sequence occasions from 2017 Rome to 2019 Cincinnati, 9 gamers gained their first Masters 1000 title:
Alexander Zverev (2017 Rome)
Grigor Dimitrov (2017 Cincinnati)
Jack Sock (2017 Paris)
Juan Martin del Potro (2018 Indian Wells)
John Isner (2018 Miami)
Karen Khachanov (2018 Paris)
Dominic Thiem (2019 Indian Wells)
Fabio Fognini (2019 Monte-Carlo)
Daniil Medvedev (2019 Cincinnati)

from Tennis – ATP World Tour